You are in: BeecroftTo Places
The area that would become Beecroft was initially the land of the Guringai Aboriginal people with white settlement in the area dating back to mid 1800s. With the railway line extended through the area in the late 1800s, Beecroft was surveyed as a potential residential suburb by Minister of Lands Henry Copeland. With a small village forming around the railway station, Beecroft was named by Copeland in 1886 in honour of the maiden name of two sisters he married in succession and Hannah Street and Mary Street are also named in their honour.
The fertile lands and relatively small land grants of Beecroft were originally utilised by settlers for orchards and market gardens with residential development in the area growing steadily through to the early 1900s. Following the housing boom of the post war period, suburbs on Sydney's north shore such as Beecroft were chosen for subdivision and redevelopment and Beecroft's position on the railway line made it particularly popular. Today with prestigious private school located nearby and a small shopping strip, picturesque Beecroft remains primarily residential with a high proportion of families choosing the suburb for their home.